Diagnostic criteria for Rheumatoid Arthritis, 6 points=RA

Remember the following tables and they will help remember easily for a long time.

Here is a table that helps to remember diagnostic criteria for RA easily.

PointsNumber and site of involved jointsSerological abnormality (rheumatoid factor or anti-citrullinated peptide/protein antibody)
1Symptom duration at least six weeksElevated acute phase response ESR or CRP
above the ULN
2 to 10 large joints (from among shoulders, elbows, hips, knees, and ankles)
21 to 3 small joints (from among the metacarpophalangeal joints, proximal interphalangeal joints, second through fifth metatarsophalangeal joints, thumb interphalangeal joints, and wrists)Low positive (above the upper limit of normal [ULN])
34 to 10 small jointsHigh positive (greater than three times the ULN)
5Greater than 10 joints (including at least 1 small joint)

In addition to those with the criteria above, which are best suited to patients with newly presenting disease, the following patients are classified as having RA:

●Patients with erosive disease typical of RA with a history compatible with prior fulfillment of the criteria above

●Patients with longstanding disease, including those whose disease is inactive (with or without treatment) who have previously fulfilled the criteria above based upon retrospectively available data.

Reference: UpToDate. Diagnosis and differential diagnosis of rheumatoid arthritis


Which joints are involved in different conditions in hand?

RARAPsoriatic Arthritis
Scleroderma Scleroderma


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.